Finding Spiritual Whitespace by Bonnie Gray

untitled

This was a different kind of book than I expected. I think it can be described as a self-help/Christian life book, mingled with a little bit of memoir. Bonnie Gray takes the reader through her experience with PTSD, triggered by memories of her painful childhood. As she began to write this book, all the memories were dredged up, causing her to seek therapy to free her soul to be who she is now, someone who is loved by God, and accepted by God. As is.

As the author suffered through insomnia and severe panic attacks, she began to discover Jesus calling her soul to rest. It took a long time to work through the trauma, but she found that to get closer to Jesus, she needed to “do” less, and rest more.

This was very well-written. However, I felt I couldn’t relate to too many of the subjects covered. I just haven’t had too much trauma in my life. I know this could be a great help to someone with a rough past – broken home, drugs, divorce, deaths.

I received the book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Categories: Book reviews | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

