A Big Year for Lily by Mary Ann Kinsinger & Suzanne Woods Fisher

 

Print

This is Book 3 in the Adventures of Lily Lapp series for girls ages 8-12. It is the second in the series I have read. I have enjoyed the simple fun the children have in both volumes I have read.

Lily is the oldest of four children in an Amish family. She has all brothers and life seems so unfair in her young life. I have to laugh at her distress over things that seem so silly. But then I think back to her age, and realize that most “small” problems were larger than life to me, as well!

Lily is growing up and changing. She is upset when her teacher announces she will be getting married, and will no longer be teaching. She has a misunderstanding with her cousin, her best friend, and the two are constantly disagreeing on the character of Aaron Yoder. The schoolhouse burns down, and Lily mourns her very own box of 64 crayons that perished in the fire.

These chapters are short and cute. It would make great reading aloud with families. Lily learns so many lessons about obedience, jumping to conclusions, and simple kindness. This volume is filled with morals we all want our children to learn.

I received the book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Categories: 50 Books in a Year, Book reviews | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

