Jesus Is ___ by Judah Smith

41sduZZcmzL__AA160_

This book was incredible! Jesus is your Friend. Jesus is grace. Through each section and chapter, your eyes will be opened to how simple it really is to live for Jesus. Not that it’s easy, but it’s simple. He made it simple when He died for you. He took care of the payment for your sin, freeing you to live life to its fullest!

I was so convicted as Mr. Smith talked about the badness scale we keep in our Christian lives and even our churches. We label others as sinning, you know, the really bad sinners. And we label ourselves as just “messing up.” It’s so wrong! It’s prideful to think Christ’s blood covered us easily, but it would be so hard for it to cover “those really bad sinners.” Really eye-opening. We pride ourselves on being “separated” when Jesus clearly spent time with sinners. He loved the sinners without immediately trying to tell them how bad they are. They became changed because they met Jesus, not because they were separated from.

One of the things that really stuck with me was him talking about his marriage. The author said that his wife was so wonderful and that their marriage was so great because of her. He said he had never thought, “Hey, I could cheat on her and she would forgive me!” No! Her faithfulness and love for him had drawn him to want to be faithful to her, not take advantage of her goodness! He said he was not being faithful to marriage; he was being faithful to a person! And when you meet Jesus, you want to be faithful to Him! When some find out about grace, they think, “Oh, so I can do whatever I want and God has to forgive me.” God will always forgive. But once you really meet Jesus, and you meet grace, you will want to be faithful to Him. Mr. Smith said, “I’ve learned that unless its too good to be true, it’s probably not grace.”

Throughout this book, I was helped and challenged. The only thing I thought could have been presented differently was the gospel message. It seemed weak to me. “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God” was quoted in a different version, and that was basically all. There was no mention in this section about any of the famous Romans Road Scriptures. I just thought it could have been handled more thoroughly. Toward the back of the book, there was a little more about “falling short” of the glory of God. However, this book was basically written to Christians, and the weak gospel presentation doesn’t change the great thought of the book!

This was a completely fresh view of Christianity. The Bible never changes, and neither does the truth within its pages, but over time, men change what it means, and how it lived out. This book did away with some of the “rules” we Christians have come up with over the past several years, and gave me a truer view of who Jesus is!

I highly recommend this book! There are some things that I would not completely agree with, but those things don’t taint the message presented in Jesus Is___.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Categories: 50 Books in a Year, Book reviews, What I'm Learning | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Jesus Is ___ by Judah Smith

  1. This sounds like a really good book. I appreciate your in-depth review of it too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

