Getting Ready for School…. {Early}

Jackson turned 5 in December, so this coming fall is the beginning of his education. We are going to home school, and I am SO excited! I have been researching and looking, surfing, and asking home-schoolin’ mamas. And I wanted to share what we are going to start with, and why.

It has been a big decision to make. I know that with two other young children, it can be difficult. So I don’t want to start off with something that we are going to be stressed to complete. Especially when al 3 are in school. I just can’t sit down and teach for hours every day. All the video programs are great! But they are often too expensive, and only for 1 year. I wanted something I can use for each child, and keep costs down.

First of all, I am going to use My Father’s World for the basic curriculum. I have two friends who use this. It is hands-on learning, but not too involved and complicated for the teacher.

a to z

Why: I love that it is a successful program, taught simply. There is a list in the appendix, listing extra books on each subject covered. You can order them from the local library. It’s very nice that they don’t require you to buy everything from them. Starting in grade 3, they have combined grades. So, every child learns the same lesson, but has different reading assignments and activities based on age. They have reasonable prices, also. But the biggest reason is that they teach everything from a Biblical perspective. Love that!

{I also want to add that I found a used teacher’s manual on amazon for only $5!}

My Father’s World is complete for Kindergarten, but they recommend you supplement some Math toward the end of the year. So, I am going to go ahead and start the year with Math u See. I am completely sold on this curriculum! A sweet friend gave me the primer level, so I am set to start! It is technically the preschool level, but they learn to recognize and write all their numbers, skip-count, add, and a start subtraction.

mathusee

Why: Math U See has hands-on learning, using manipulative blocks to help the child “see” how it works. I am not good at Math, and have always been scared of teaching my own children Math at the high school level. But this curriculum goes all the way up to Calculus, and comes with instructional DVDs, where the teacher teaches the lesson. Then they have a workbook. They go at their own pace, so if they have the concept mastered after only 2 pages, they move on to the next lesson. It’s also very inexpensive and all you need for the next student is a $20 workbook.

I am also going to introduce some classical music, and start a very simple piano program with Jackson. I am so very excited to teach him.

Another great resource that I have used a lot is this great site with reviews of all home school curriculum. Listen to thousands of mom tell why a program worked for them… or not.

I know each day will be different, and some will be very hard! But I also know we’re going to have a LOT of fun!

Categories: Home Schooling | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Getting Ready for School…. {Early}

  1. You start a long journey with this! I’m sure you will do well. Curriculum is always a tough choice so I am glad you already have figured out what you want to do!

  2. I can remember all too well when I sat Lela (our first) down for her first day of ‘meeting time’. I was so nervous SHE actually told me to take a deep breath and assured me I was going to be a great teacher. I am so thankful for her encouragement (she still encourages me). Enjoy this time with your little ones and be ever so kind to yourself and your darling children along the way. Hold fast to your REASONS for home schooling and remind yourself of them when the days are tough. Remember to take it moment by moment (especially when they are very young) and do not STRESS to complete every lesson. Make plenty of time for snuggling and stories and stay CONNECTED to your God, your spouse and your friends!!!

    Chantel
    OfftheSoapbox.wordpress.com

    • Thank you for your sweet words of encouragement! It’s good to hear positive words about home schooling. 🙂

  3. I’m so very proud of my children…keeping their children out of public schools…for I know this is the will of God.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

