“…whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.”

Yesterday, my husband and I were out together. You know, that rare time alone.

We were Christmas shopping for our children. Later in the evening, we checked in to a hotel. We went to check out the fitness center. The tv was playing. That was the first I knew of the precious children and teachers who were killed. It’s so, so sad. I cannot imagine being one of those parents, looking at the presents wrapped for their 6-year-old daughter, already under the Christmas tree. I imagine them remembering the night before when she picked up that gift and shook it, trying to guess what was inside.

I don’t know the details of the shooting, and I don’t want to know. I didn’t read anything about it until just a few hours ago. I read the post that listed all their names and birthdates.

It broke my heart.

It made me feel like a shallow Christian. What am I doing for eternity? It is God that these people need. Not just the victims, but the shooter. He needed Christ. He needed the gospel.

So many are saying, “Teachers need guns!” No doubt it would’ve stopped today’s tragedy! I wish they had been armed!

But what about reaching the heart? What about reaching the lost and broken before they “snap?”

What can I do? How can I help do my part to see that the gospel reaches the hopeless?

I turned to the Psalms. “And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper” (Psalm 1:3).

I want everything I do in this life to be prospered by the Lord. I want Him to give it His blessing. I want Him to give it a little nudge that gives it more power! I want to raise my children to serve God with all their hearts!

How can I prosper like this? How can God use me? Verse 2 says, “But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.”

As we read God’s Word, it transforms us. It gives us confidence when we are timid, words when we are speechless, boldness when we are afraid. If I live in His Word daily, He will make me just what He wants me to be!

bibliadavar

As I thought on this, I asked the Lord to show me where to apply this! Immediately He brought to my mind a new ministry I am going to head up this coming year. I am so excited about it! It is a great opportunity to reach people! It is for young mothers. What better place to work than with those who are raising the next generation? I am praying that souls will be saved, and that these young women will determine to raise their children as they cling to the Word of God. I pray their children will grow up to live for God and love others, not hurt them!

May God forgive me on those Saturday nights when I dread the next morning. May He forgive me when I complain about not having enough money for things I want. May He especially forgive me when I complain about my messy house… at least my children are safe in their beds.

May He use me and help all I do for Him to prosper!

Categories: What I'm Learning | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on ““…whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.”

  1. Peggy

    This is great!

  2. Joy you are so right. And to encourage you there is such a ministry in motherhood. I have been amazed at how many doors the Lord has opened for me in this area. I think we have to look for everyday evangelism and building relationships with people. I will be praying for you. You are always such a blessing.

  3. Jane Smith

    I love this Joy. As a person (and Mother) who suffers from mental illness, I can say first hand that there is not enough help for those with mental disabilities. I struggle daily and I would never be able to make it thru the day without God.

    That being said, I hope that your new endeavor is successful with the help of the Lord. Working with young Mothers should include being educated in recognizing when a new Mother is overwhelmed and needs help. Postpartum Depression is not rare and those who suffer from it need to have a support system. And it doesn’t always happen with the first child, but can occur as their family grows and the burden of trying to be THE BEST MOM overwhelms them. They need to be encouraged and given the information on how to get the help they need. Their husbands also need help to understand what their wives are going thru and how to lift her up and stand behind her.
    Also, there are so many young women who have not had the blessing of being raised in a Christian home and they have no idea how to teach their children of God’s love and how they should conduct themselves as children of God. Even though I was taken to Church regularly our home was not a Godly home. Actually it was far from it. There were problems with sticking to convictions and that caused confusion. There was violence that was mentally and emotionally scarring. This carried over in my life raising my first child and on top of that she had/has emotional problems of her own that have led her down a sad and destructive path even though I kept her in Church. Just going to Church is not enough. You have to live the life.
    I am no longer able to attend Church and I miss the fellowship. I miss having friends. I have isolated myself and I am scared of contact with others, but at the same time I CRAVE IT. After the anxiety attacks wear off, I really do enjoy time with people. I have completely lost the person I once was and I don’t know how to cope. Yes, I have attempted suicide but God said it wasn’t my time to go yet. I wonder what I can possibly do for Him since I have several mental issues and a myriad of health problems. He saw fit to keep me alive thru 3 heart attacks in one day on September 22, 2011 and open heart surgery. So I will try to bloom where He has planted me. I may just be a small flower that barely peeks thru the weeds, but He put me here for some reason.
    Facebook has been an outlet for me to connect to the world outside of my home without actually leaving home. I try to stay positive when I post and keep negative things to myself. I want to be a blessing not a burden. However, I do desperately need prayers of those who can truly reach God. And I ask that each one who reads this to please keep my children in your prayers. All three show signs of having similar mental issues as I have and it breaks my heart. I wouldn’t wish this life on anyone.
    I’m sorry this is so long and maybe this isn’t the place for it to be posted but I just need to share that behind the facade is a nightmare.

    So, “What can you do to reach the hopeless?” DON’T BE AFRAID OF BEING A FRIEND TO SOMEONE WHO IS “DIFFERENT”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

