Call of a Coward by Marcia Moston

This book takes you through the journey of a middle-class housewife and her practical fears of going to the mission field. All the way from traveling on un-developed “roads”, to not drinking the water, to financial struggles, the author is very honest. Through it all, she learns to trust God more and to see that His ways are not our ways.

The author reminds me of myself. Doubting, worrying, trying to tell God how to handle a situation. I can so appreciate her fears, and her honesty! The quote on the back cover sums up my feeling of this book: “It’s difficult to get your mind around trust. You just have to do it.” She has a beautiful way of showing this. There is no perfect formula for trust. Every person thinks differently and learns differently. Many times throughout this book, I was encouraged and convicted. I felt scared as she described her first ride into the village. I felt squeamish as she told of the scorpions and lice. I felt ashamed as she recalled all her doubting. And I felt loving and triumphant along with their successes.

I highly recommend this book. It is an easy and quick read, and very encouraging to the Christian!

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Categories: Book reviews | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Call of a Coward by Marcia Moston

  1. Good job on your first book review!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

